Snippets – Take 3

16f6554dfd0b25f7edcc1603ce35b703

 

Maybe I’ve used this before, maybe I haven’t, but either way – I’m feeling crazy busy.  I’m running around like a chicken with her head cut off. Between the beginning of the school year, more responsibility at work, and planning a wedding – most days I feel lucky to be dressed and groomed to go to work.  Hence, the lack of blog posts in the past month or so.  Scatter brain doesn’t make for the most coherent of writing! Ha!

So, I bring you some snippets of what we have been doing lately in the lands of Kinder and Tutor Town….

 

 

Celebrating International Dot Day

IMG_0872 IMG_0875 IMG_0876

 Using students’ voices and choices during tutoring

In my experience, the most successful tutoring sessions involve working on confidence and using activities the student feels invested in.   The smallest things, like paper color for flash cards, help students feel in control of their learning.  The student I tutor each week loves dinosaurs, so dinosaurs are on the top of his flashcards.  We keep activities varied each week to keep it interesting.

IMG_0442  IMG_0446

Indoor hopscotch and “SWAT” a word on laminated butcher paper that has been folded in half

IMG_9537 IMG_9539

Hidden sight words – white crayon and watercolor paint

  IMG_9543    IMG_9538

Personalized flash cards – We play Memory and Go Fish

Literacy Through Play

I began taking a kindergarten literacy class that discusses how we can incorporate more play into our school day.  The class is relevant and exciting.  We are not required to read outside of the class, but I have found myself reading the books on my own time.  More to come from this class!

literacy-through-play-owocki-1999

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Snippets – Take 3

  1. I love the indoor sight word hopscotch idea! I know what I will be making this week! I can’t wait to read more about your literacy through play reading! I will need to pick up this book!

Leave a Reply

