As the pages turn…

21448f56fa5134f5354036af7a8f78f2

Around this time last year, I posted about ending the year with a BOOK!

This year, I have found myself automatically gravitating toward books that leave the impact of making memories.  At first, it was completely subconscious – I chose a book I love and had not yet read aloud for one reason or the other.  And later that same day, I chose another book.  And the next day another… Looking at the selections – left on my easel for students to enjoy – I realized there was a theme.

20140531-114124-42084028.jpg

 

Thoughtlessly, I was plucking books from my shelf that captured my mood – nostalgic, retrospective, idealistic, hopeful, inspired, and that bittersweet feeling of finishing a chapter in life.  Our year is coming to a close – and while summer looms on the horizon filled with trips, family time, and a small moment to breathe – I’m not quite ready. My year has been challenging.  Challenging in all the ways you don’t appreciate at first.  Challenging in all the ways that exhaust you.  Challenging in all the ways that remind you why you love your job. When I’m left without words of my own, I turn to the words of others.

Our last books of school:

Our Tree Named Steve

Our Tree Named Steve by Alan Zwiebel and David Catrow

hello+goodbye+window

The Hello, Goodbye Window by Norton Juster and Chris Raschka

someday

Someday by Eileen Spinelli and Rosie Winstead

Unknown

The Relatives Came by Cynthia Rylant and Stephen Gammel

MissRumphiusBookCover

Miss Rumphius by Barbara Cooney

For our end of year celebration:

(We read First Day Jitters on the first day)

155345

Last Day Blues by Julie Danneberg and Judy Love

And some I can’t help but read once again:

6164Kca-dDL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

Stand Tall Molly Lou Melon by Patty Lovell and David Catrow

wilfrid_cover

Wilfrid Gordon McDonald Partridge by Mem Fox and Julie Vivas

738fc3c0b4ad6da3c98f332b2ea0134c

2 Comments

Filed under Literacy, Mentor Text, Read Alouds, Uncategorized

2 responses to “As the pages turn…

  1. Love this post! Some books are “old friends” others new territory for me to explore. Have a great summer!

Leave a Reply

