#Kinderchat Challenge Day 4: When I Grow Up

nicu_baby_incubator         Child-Teaching-Stuffed-Animals

 

 

 

When I was a little girl, I LOVED school.  I would play teacher with friends – lining up our stuffed animals.  We would create work and grade papers. We even kept those grades in a book.  I was the child who took home extra work books, papers, and posters.  I have and always will be a book worm.

In high school, I developed a stronger interest in science.  Dissecting frogs and experimenting with DNA in AP Biology fascinated me.  My volunteer work at a children’s hospital led me to an interest in the NICU.  I was a biology/pre-med major for one.whole.semester.

Long story short, bad Chemistry 1101 experience and I was questioning my choice to become a doctor.  If I was feeling this discouraged after one class, how would I make it through med school?  I thought about what I wanted my future to be like – marriage, family, children… Would I have time for these things in my “dream” profession of being a doctor in the NICU?  I thought about my hopes as a little girl and what I wanted to be when I grew up.  I remembered the little girl playing school and I changed my major – just like that.

I have never regretted my decision – I am still quite a science nerd.  I work with children with special needs every day and every year, including those who have spent some time in the NICU.  My future title of Doctor will just come from a different type of degree.

Leave a comment

Filed under Kinderblog

Leave a Reply

