I Dare to be Brave

Modern-Life-Means-Children-Miss-Out-on-Pleasures-of-Reading-a-Good-Book

I’ve been doing a lot of reading the past few days.  Reading is good – I love it – I model loving it in my classroom.  My life would not be the same without reading. Why do I love it so much? Aside from the entertainment aspect?  Reading causes you to think. Reading causes you to consider something from another stand point.  Reading can strengthen your beliefs – or cause a “come to Jesus” moment with them.

As I am preparing to start a new school year, I am reflecting on last year.  What would I like to do the same?  What would I like to change?  I’ve made some organizational and arrangement changes already to create a more open, collaborative working environment for my students.  And I’m having my own “come to Jesus” moments about homework and behavior management (Bye bye stop light system).  The two links below are still reeling in my brain.

“Behavior Management”: not systems, but relationships
http://missnightmutters.com/2012/09/behaviour-management-not-systems-but-relationships.html

Be Brave: The Only Rule in My Kindergarten Class
http://mattbgomez.com/be-brave-the-only-rule-in-my-kindergarten-class/

I’ve blogged before about my journey into Personalized Learning in my classroom.  Now more than ever – I’m seeking value in everything I do in my classroom.  I want to continue creating a strong community of learners and thinkers.  One aspect of Personalized Learning is a Code of Cooperation.  The class works together to create expectations – not rules – for the year.  Being the book worm I am – I’m compiling a list of read alouds to help in our process.  I hope to read different books throughout our first week together, discuss the books, and then create our code.

chrys

Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes is, and always will be, a first day of school read aloud – no matter what grade I teach.  It allows for discussions of friendship, self esteem, and courage.

8398636_orig

The Recess Queen by Alexis O’Neill is second on the “must read” list for every year.  Students love the rhythm of the words – and gives a jump off point for talking about bullies, equity, and friendship.

The following are options for discussing fairness in the classroom and the idea that fair does not always mean the same.

bigredlollipop_sophieblackall2

Big Red Lollipop by Rukhsana Kahn (link to read online!)

peter

Peter’s Chair by Ezra Jack Keats

sphie

When Sophie Gets Angry – Really Really Angry… by Molly Bang

il_fullxfull.220379601

One Fine Day by Nonny Hogrogrian

To tie in empathy, I turn back to Kevin Henkes (love him!)

owen_mouse

Owen

And for safety, I like to have Gloria’s help

gloria-imitates-officer-buckle

Officer Buckle and Gloria

My #kinderchat tweeps have been discussing #brave as our theme for this year.  Do you dare?

4 Comments

Filed under Literacy, Read Alouds

4 responses to “I Dare to be Brave

  1. Great post, Frannie! I always start with Chrysanthemum too. Kevin Henkes is the best.

  2. Armadillo Tattletale and Do Unto Otters are really good books that you might want to consider. My blog is about read alouds, but I haven’t posted on those yet

  3. Pingback: Being Brave with Books | With Literacy in Mind

Leave a Reply

