Springing forward! Snippets of Inspiration

“Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.” ~ Harriet Tubman

As I’m enjoying my coffee on my last day of Spring Break, I’m finally in a place to put all of the ideas down into this blog. I don’t think it is uncommon for teachers to continue “working” on their breaks – I even count all those pins I’ve put on my classroom antics Pinterest board. The point is – – – I’m still looking for inspiration, everywhere. And although it has been nice to spend time with family and relax just a smidge, I’m ready to go back to my classroom tomorrow. I’m ready to see my kids. I’m ready to hear all of their stories and see the excitement in their faces as they go on and on (and on). 😀

I’m ready to finish this year with a bang!

I’ve compiled a list of what is inspiring me right now – what I’m reading, who I am blog/Pinterest stalking, and what is just generally making me want to do more.

image (1)

Common Core Unloaded is a great blog that I’m getting idea for my literacy block from. The author asks you to think outside the boxes that education and policy place on us – and listen to your students. It goes hand in hand with my personalized learning obsession and the next two people I follow…

Screen Shot 2013-07-10 at 9.53.40 PM

I found Kathleen McClaskey researching Personalized Learning one day. She does a lot of blogging and sharing ideas on scoopit. com. And then I found her on Pinterest! I repin just about EVERYTHING she pins. She is innovative with ideas and is helping me bring EdTech in my own classroom to another level.

Screen Shot 2013-07-10 at 9.54.33 PM

Lisa Welch and Wanda Richardson are my heroes right now! I gush about them constantly to coworkers — wishing we could knock down some walls and combine. My mentor, Kristi Meeuwse, and I share kids frequently to try and get the same benefits they do in their Learning Garden (which is multi-age and multi-level). Their BUDS acronym really resonated with me over this break. I would give anything to be able to hear them speak and visit their classroom.

Photo-7_10_13,-9.55.32-PM-1

Last, but certainly not least in my book – my nieces are inspiring me. I spent the better half of my Spring Break with my sister and her children. We welcomed a new baby into the family just before Easter. Staying with my sister and seeing the excitement in the big sisters faces (Ruby and Libby, 3 and Olivia 6) was an energizer. Olivia is in first grade and she is exploring animals in her classroom. She is able to choose which animal to research but has guiding questions for her research. She has access to technology – but not in the way my students are fortunate enough to. With my teacher iPad, I introduced her to Book Creator. Her eyes lit up and she began creating. In the span of under an hour – she created her own book.

image (2)

The twins inspired me with the use of the Mr. Potato Head app. What started as showing an app they could manipulate on their own became an idea for free writing in my classroom. Inside the app, you choose the potato head to create and then you can place him/her in a scene. To me – this equals writing inspiration and illustrations for student created books.

Photo-7_10_13,-10.03.04-PM-1

I am thankful for these inspirations – they keep me focused and determined to make some changes and make a difference.

Leave a comment

Filed under Literacy, Technology

Leave a Reply

